Union Budget 2023 Review

Explore
Open Demat Account Login

Share Market
Holidays 2023


The major Indian stock exchanges remain closed on national and state holidays. These are called share market holidays or trading holidays. On these days, all market transactions remain suspended. Therefore, trading holidays impact the trading strategies as well as the total quantum of profit and loss that can happen within a particular financial year. So upgrade yourself beforehand on the trading holidays 2022.

The following is the list of share market holidays or trading holiday 2023 -

Share Market Holiday List 2023

S. No Occasion Day Date Details
1 Republic Day Thursday Jan 26, 2023 Full Day Off
2 Mahashivratri Saturday Feb 18, 2023 Morning Off
3 Holi Wednesday Mar 08, 2023 Morning Off
4 Ram Navami Thursday Mar 30, 2023 Morning Off
5 Mahavir Jayanti Tuesday Apr 04, 2023 Morning Off
6 Good Friday Friday Apr 07, 2023 Full Day Off
7 Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti Friday Apr 14, 2023 Morning Off
8 Eid-ul-Fitr (Ramzan Eid) Saturday Apr 22, 2023 Morning Off
9 Maharashtra Day Monday May 01, 2023 Full Day Off
10 Bakri Eid (Eid-ul-Adha) Wednesday Jun 28, 2023 Morning Off
11 Muharram Saturday Jun 29, 2023 Morning Off
12 Independence Day Tuesday Aug 15, 2023 Full Day Off
13 Ganesh Chaturthi Tuesday Sep 19, 2023 Morning Off
14 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Monday Oct 02, 2023 Full Day Off
15 Dasara Tuesday Oct 24, 2023 Morning Off
16 Diwali-Laxmi Pujan Sunday Nov 12, 2023 Morning Off
17 Diwali-Balipratipada Tuesday Nov 14, 2023 Morning Off
18 Guru Nanak Jayanti Monday Nov 27, 2023 Morning Off
19 Christmas Monday Dec 25, 2023 Full Day Off

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I buy stocks when the market is closed?

You can place an order to purchase stocks through an after-market order when the trading session gets closed. All orders placed after 3:30 pm, when the market closes are after-market orders, enter the system when the market opens the next day during the pre-trading session.

Is the stock market open on Saturday?

On all Saturdays and Sundays, the stock market remains closed as weekly holidays. The stock market functions for five days a week, from Monday to Friday, between 9:15 am to 3:30 pm.

How does a holiday affect the stock market?

Holidays and weekly off increase the time of settlement, which can impact the outcome of a trade. In 2022, stock markets will have four extended weekends because the holidays are falling either on Fridays or Mondays. We suggest you plan your trades keeping this in mind.

Does the market remain open on the weekends?

Saturdays and Sundays are the weekly holidays followed by the Indian bourses. So, after remaining closed on Saturday and Sunday the market opens on Monday at 9:15 am.

Enjoy Zero Brokerage on
Equity Delivery

Enjoy Zero Brokerage on Equity Delivery

Get the link to download the App

Send App Link